The Davao Integrated Development Program was initiated by the Local Chief Executives of the Local Government Units comprising the Davao Region. This was established through a Memorandum of Agreement signed by the Local Chief Executives of the Provinces of Davao Del Norte,Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental and Compostela Valley and the cities of Davao, Tagum, Panabo, Digos, Island Garden City of Samal and Mati. Since its inception in 1994, the member LGUs have faithfully remitted their annual financial contributions to the DIDP to support its programs and activities.

The program has achieved significant strides in integrating the development initiatives and plans of the local government units as well as the national government line agencies through the DIDP Master Plan. The DIDP Master Plan responds to and complements the National Government’s Agenda particularly in the attainment of food security and poverty alleviation in Mindanao.

At present, the DIDP Integrated Food Security is being implemented by LGUs. A total of 648.8 Million was released by the national government for the implementation of the farm to market road projects, small irrigation development projects, and various livelihood and resource management projects.